1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Update

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help' started by mattanddo, Sep 19, 2017.

1. mattanddo

mattanddo Established Techie7 Member

Why, when I disable the windows update service which I have been doing for a few years now has it suddenly started re-enabling itself. WHAT IS CAUSING THIS ?????

2. nukecad

nukecad Established Techie7 Member

MICROSOFT IS CAUSING THIS.

You have asked this in 3 diferent threads now.

In none of the threads have you said what edition of windows you are using -Home, Pro, Enterprise, (or even 10s) ?
    You have said you think it's version 1607.

I hadn't realised what you are doing to try and turn off Automatic Updates. (Disabling the service).
    It won't work.

Yes, you can still select 'disable' from Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services>Windows Update>Properties.

Windows 10 will re-enable it.

Microsoft do not want you to turn off Windows 10 Automatic Updates.

You may be able to defer updates for a time, but only if you have the Pro or Enterprise edition.

The best you can do with the Home edition is set your network connection to 'Metered' - this will stop most, but not all, updates from downloading. (Until you connect to an unmetered connection again or click to allow them over the metered connection).
    Setting the connection to 'metered' used to stop all updates from downloading, but Windows changed it.

I take it this is still about your Nvidia driver?
    I have just posted a possible solution in the first thread you made on this subject:
    http://www.techie7.com/threads/73114/

Last edited: Sep 20, 2017
  3. mattanddo