1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My laptop's wireless is either in denial and or bi-polar :P

Discussion in 'Firewalls and Networks' started by deviantdigi, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    *Gasp* Wireless networking issues. :euro:

    My setup is two computers, a desktop and a laptop, connected to a router for wireless internet.

    Wireless wise, everything was running great. But then out of nowhere, the wireless internet for just my laptop started missing a beat. I ruled it out to the usual wireless drop outs and went on about my way. But the outages continued, and got worse (longer).

    It's hard to describe the symptoms as they seem to be changing all the time. Currently, it's taking a strangely long time to "Identify...". But eventually it goes through and Windows taskbar shows I'm successfully connected to the router. Sometimes its states I don't have internet access. Sometimes it states I do have internet access. Even when it does, no website responds and all command prompt pings, time out.

    I've tried the standard online fixes, but to no avail (Or they're already in effect). For what its worth, the IP config release/renew solution. Upon renewing, I get the following error : "An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection 2 : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request timed out."

    So I took it over to my sister's house to see if it was the wireless card, but it worked over there. So, it has to be on my side. But my desktop continues to connect and work flawlessly.

    Last night I uninstalled and updated the network adapter's driver for the second time. And by some miracle it worked! All last night it had internet . . . Then this morning, it just cut out and now nothingness again.

    Haven't a clue.

    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    [B]C:\Users\l3lue>ipconfig[/B]
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:fc60:371a:77bb:fb44
       Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:981d:eb15:d5e0:339b
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc60:371a:77bb:fb44%17
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.***.***.68
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::200:ff:fe00:0%17
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C1ED37DF-87FD-4115-B6A1-1B93EC48B6EA}:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    [B]C:\Users\l3lue>ipconfig /release[/B]
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:fc60:371a:77bb:fb44
       Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:981d:eb15:d5e0:339b
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc60:371a:77bb:fb44%17
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.***.***.68
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::200:ff:fe00:0%17
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C1ED37DF-87FD-4115-B6A1-1B93EC48B6EA}:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    [B]C:\Users\l3lue>ipconfig /renew[/B]
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection 2 : unabl
    e to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.
    
    C:\Users\l3lue>ipconfig
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:fc60:371a:77bb:fb44
       Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:981d:eb15:d5e0:339b
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc60:371a:77bb:fb44%17
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.***.***.68
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::200:ff:fe00:0%17
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C1ED37DF-87FD-4115-B6A1-1B93EC48B6EA}:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
    
    C:\Users\l3lue>ipconfig /all
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : l3lue-PC
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte
    r
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-C5-E3-7A
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:fc60:371a:77bb:fb44(P
    referred)
       Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:4a8b:63b4:1234:981d:eb15:d5e0:339b(P
    referred)
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc60:371a:77bb:fb44%17(Preferred)
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.***.***.68(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::200:ff:fe00:0%17
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 292614561
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-88-53-E3-00-22-19-F5-34-96
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                           fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                           fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C1ED37DF-87FD-4115-B6A1-1B93EC48B6EA}:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    
     
  2. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    The fact it worked great at your sister's says to me your notebook's adapter (and drivers) are fine. And the fact your Ethernet connected PC connects and gets out to the Internet with no problems says the router itself is fine and so is your "gateway" (typically a cable/DSL modem). I am assuming distances, number of walls, floors, ceilings, etc. are about the same at your house as your sister's.

    So it would seem your WAP (wireless access point) is having problems. Note, technically there is no such thing as a "wireless router". That is a marketing term. What is sold as a wireless router is really a router (a network device that connects or isolates two network), a 4-port Ethernet switch, and a WAP integrated into the same box - just like a sound card or video card may be integrated into a motherboard.

    So that out of the way, it seems your router and switch are good, but the WAP is having problems. You might try resetting your wireless router by unplugging its power for 30 seconds or so and see what happens. You might also try your sister's (or another's) wireless notebook on your network.
     
  3. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Thanks for the input Digerati.

    It has an "excellent" signal from the router. It doesn't appear to drop in that manner. Resetting it doesn't seem to help.

    I've changed channels. I thought it maybe some kind of interference. But its still acting up.

    I've tested 2 other siblings computers, they don't seem to have any issues.

    I'm going to go pick up a external usb wireless card, see if that helps.
     
  4. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    Keep us posted.
     
  5. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Welp, hardware failure?

    I picked up a Linksys WUSB600N USB adapter and it works fine on the laptop.

    I did do a double check on the antenna wires. I guess that is enough proof to grab a new internal wifi card. (Needed the USB adapter for the desktop anyway.)
     
  6. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    Well, I am glad it appears to be resolved, I hope it holds. Thanks for the follow up.
     
  7. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Right after I ordered a new wifi card for the laptop... *gasp*. I played with some stuff and it seems to be working.

    In the device manager:
    Network Adapters:
    Realtek RTL8102E/ blah blah PCI-E Ethernet NIC "<- was disabled"
    Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n Wifi Adapter "<- was enabled"

    Even though I'm only doing wireless, after enabling the Ethernet device, the internet usage has been smooth and stable. But I don't remember ever disabling it. It did have that power management option enabled though. Maybe when I adjusted the power options, it disabled. Maybe its required regardless?

    Maybe this solution doesn't work at all, and I'm just getting lucky atm :p. I dislike troubleshooting networks lol.
     
  8. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Disregard that ^. All luck. : ]
     
  9. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    Well, now you have a spare adapter. Thanks for the update.
     
  10. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Ok, so the new Realtek RTL8191SE arrived and it shows the exact same symptoms as the old one. :(

    I've been pinging google for the last 72 hours. During the day, the ping times were rapidly fluctuating between 40 and 500 ms. Request timed out every 10 or so pings. Although, sometimes timing out like 5 times in a row. Internet unusable.

    During that late night, I got around 40 ms for the most part so the internet kinda worked. It would still spike every now and again. Very frustrating.

    I didn't check it this morning. But tonight, its been a smooth 40ish ms. Working great with no drop outs. Just like ole' times :)

    Now, the only thing that has changed is my father and step-mother left the house for the night. I'm really starting to think there is an interference here. I remember looking up data for a research paper when this annoyance just started. My step-mother arrived in her rather new, overly teched out, truck. And immediately the internet cut out (high ms). I know it has bluetooth, but I don't know about its wifi capabilities.

    I do know, this didn't start happening since she got the truck though. Just an occurrence. To my knowledge, no devices have been added to house that could cause interference. All that could, was already here when the internet on the laptop was fine awhile back.
     
  11. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Addding, sometimes I'll open the list of connection available when I troubleshoot and it will just show my network. Which I'm connected to. Ill wait a few minutes and refresh, and like 6 other connections will pop up. I don't know if that help determine any symptoms but its strange.
     
  12. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    What do you mean by, "6 other connections"?

    You should not have ANY "connections" to your network that you don't authorize. Did you mean "networks"? Depending on your neighborhood you might easily "see" many other wireless networks belonging to your neighbors in nearby houses or apartments, but that does not mean or suggest you can "connect" to them, or your neighbors can "connect" to yours.

    However, a crowded neighborhood could result in poor wireless performance and you may need to look at changing channels for your wireless. See your router's manual for that.

    Bluetooth should not cause problems. For one, Bluetooth uses a very weak signal for a very limited range. For another, they are designed to work in the same environment. For example in this room, I have two Bluetooth keyboards and two Bluetooth mice and no problems.

    Old or damage TVs, microwave ovens, and other electronics can introduce interference.

    A loose or damaged sparkplug wire can cause significant interference but it typically is heard as buzz through speakers or seen on TVs as static lines through the image. And the buzz changes as the engine RPMs change. So not likely the truck.

    If you really meant 6 connections to your network and you don't have 6 networked devices (PCs, tablets, notebooks, networked printers, "Internet-ready" BlueRay players and TVs), then you need to immediately - like RIGHT NOW!!! - change the passphrase to the wireless side of your network. You don't need unauthorized users illegally using your connection, hogging your bandwidth. And you surely don't need unauthorized users using your network (and ISP assigned IP address) to send spam, access illegal porn or gambling sites, or to conduct DDoS attacks.
     
  13. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    I'm currently studying for system administration. Perhaps if they would allow me to get into protocols etc. instead of how to insert pictures into MS word. I'd be better off :p. But I'm not computer illiterate, neither are you, sorry if I use terms vague or in a confusing manner.

    But the router has a WEP key in place. I'm not on the neighbors network and to my knowledge they're not on mine.

    I have changed channels though. I also updated the firmware. Didn't seem to make a difference.

    I previously meant, "connections" as "connections available".
    Untitled.jpg
    But that list, will sometimes only show the first network listed. The one I'm connected to.

    I am a little suspicious about the Direct TV connection. Being it uses the wifi to share recordings between cable boxes (3). During the day, is when most of the recording is done. Perhaps that is sapping the internets.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
  14. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    Okay, that screen shot simply shows other wireless networks in your neighborhood. No big deal.

    You need to be certain. If you access your router's admin menu, it will show the connected devices and they should only be your currently connected devices.

    That said, WEB is the oldest and weakest security. You should be WPA or better yet, WPA2 - the standard since 2006.
     
  15. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    I understand the difficulty in cracking WPA2 vs WEP. The router logs are clean.

    Thanks for the help digerati. I guess I'm just going to deal with a awkward external USB wifi card for the time being.
     
  16. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    Well, I would look at other things too. Like your router placement/antenna orientation. Number of walls, ceilings and floors between the router/WAP and the connected devices. Nearby fluorescent lights, TVs, large speakers, microwave ovens, etc.
     
  17. deviantdigi

    deviantdigi Established Techie7 Member

    Yeh, all the above. Interference possibilities everywhere. Even myself :p

    Been troubleshooting those type of items. But I didn't find any changes in the signal.

    I give up. I think I'm going to go with a Powerline setup.

    Thanks again.
     
  18. Digerati

    Digerati Super Moderator Techie7 Moderator

    I would only consider using that if my house, or the house wiring was new. Interference can come through power lines too.