my friend has an internet problem, PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!

  1. #1
    madmikejt12 is offline Dedicated Member

    my friend has an internet problem, PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!

    hi, my friend's internet wont work, he has a motorola cable modem, windows xp home and uses IE6, it started when he installed lavasofts ad-aware, he scanned his computer it had found about 18 and a message came up sayin your computer will shut down in .. seconds. when we turned it on, he couldnot connect to msn messenger or IE although the "connected" light was on on his modem, he had this problem before and asked me to help, i turned off the firewall, restarted, and it worked but this time it didnt can someone please help??????


  2. #2
    jephree is offline ¨*·.¸ «.·°·..·°·.» ¸.·*¨
    A first step would be to try a system restore to before the install.

    Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore
    Last edited by jephree; 07-11-2004 at 11:11 PM.

  3. #3
    broni is offline Senior Member
    he installed lavasofts ad-aware, he scanned his computer it had found about 18 and a message came up sayin your computer will shut down
    It found those 18 entries, and he clicked on any button, or his computer just did shut down?
    Ad-aware creates backup.

  4. #4
    Bear is offline D-A-L Elite Member
    broni please read the D-A-L Forum Rules, advertising your site is not allowed here.

    Please follow the next set of rules VERY CAREFULLY, going against some of the following rules can result in you being permanently banned from the D-A-L network.

    ANY posts which are deemed to be advertising a web site or product on the forum will be deleted immediately. If you wish to advertise on D-A-L.com please contact us using the button above. Posting links to other sites which are generally offering help or a useful resource is of course no problem. You may also include links to your own site or a site you like or find useful in your signature as long as it meets with our link approval. Just to clarify, a post which says:

    Hi

    Please see http://www.sometechhelpsite.com for help with this.

    Would be deemed fine.
    However, a post such as this:

    Hi

    Please visit this great site of mine http://www.somespammylink.com

    Would be deemed advertising. We are always watching! if you want to advertise a product or service then just contact us and we can see what we can do.

    Please note that repeat offenders who advertise on the site will be banned from the D-A-L.com network.

  5. #5
    madmikejt12 is offline Dedicated Member
    thank you for all your help, it is finaly sorted my friend is made up that he can use the internet again

+ Reply to Thread