junk mail?

  1. #1
    kordo57 is offline Junior Member

    junk mail?

    I received an e-mail from admin@fbi.gov going to mailing-list@hotmail.com with the subject "you visit illegal websites". Here is the content:
    +ADw-div+AD4APA-pre+AD4- Dear Sir/Madam, we have logged your IP-address on more than 40 illegal Websites. Important: Please answer our questions+ACE- The list of questions are attached. Yours faithfully, M. John Stellford Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI- 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 2130 Washington, DC 20535 (202) 324-3000+ADw-/pre+AD4APA-/div+AD4-
    Along with this message is the attachment text-indictment_cit3937.zip, which I did not open.
    Naturally, I think that this is some sort of virus since I do not visit any illegal websites. Could you please fill me in with any information you might have?
    Thanks,
    Kordo57


  2. #2
    Teresa is offline Junior Member
    Personally, I've never heard of such a thing! I think your suspicion is correct. I can't even imagine the FBI sending emails to suspects! That's disturbing and comical all at the same time!

  3. #3
    D-A-L is offline D-A-L Administrator
    Do not open the attachment, this is very likely a Virus.

  4. #4
    kordo57 is offline Junior Member
    Thank You

  5. #5
    owen is offline D-A-L Team Member (UK)
    Save 20% on AVG Internet Security 2012 Suite!
    Not sure what virus it is, but as D-A-L and Teresa said, take caution with attachments from unknown senders. Delete and don't let curiosity get the better of you. Ensure you are protected properly as well, read the Hijack This Logs post at the top of this forum and scroll down to the Preventing It Returning section.

+ Reply to Thread